Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | February 6, 2009

Remembering blessings

As I was up with my son while he was sick between two and five a.m. the other night, I was trying to stay focused on the blessings in the situation. As tired as I was, I had thoughts of blessings:

  • “I’m so glad he doesn’t have a fever too.”
  • “I’m so glad his brother is able to sleep through this.”
  • “Thank goodness we have a warm house on such a cold night.”
  • “I’m so glad I don’t have any work scheduled tomorrow, so I can stay home and have a restful day to help my son get better.”

Then, in the normal daylight hours I felt so blessed through some of what can often feel like mundane tasks:

  • “I’m thankful for plastic gloves when I’m washing dishes.”
  • “I’m thankful for the blessing of plentiful water for baths, laundry, and refreshment.”
  • “I’m thankful that my son has kept down his food today.”
  • “I’m thankful that the snow falling outside is gentle and beautiful.”

There are so many days when I forget to stop and see the blessings around me. As a busy mom, I’m sure that is typical. I try to remember to stop more often and see the blessings God has given me. And may God give you many blessings today.

I am also thankful for the words in Numbers 6:24-26, “The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make His face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the Lord lift up His countenance upon you and give you peace.”

Responses

  1. Gratitude is a powerful powerful thing! I love your great examples, Cathi!

    • Thanks Sue!

  2. I remember a situation where I was hobbled after some unexpected foot surgery. I was moving incredibly slowly, changing planes in the Pittsburgh airport. Exiting the plane, as I was bemoaning my slowness (I normally move very rapidly through airports), I started to look for the learning or blessing of the situation. I was really struggling as I was slowly limped up the jet-bridge into the concourse. Suddenly, directly in front of me on a perpendicular path was my aunt! Hadn’t seen her in years, and the last conversation we’d had on the phone was to work through a misunderstanding. If I’d been moving faster, I’d have missed her entirely. Instead, we had a wonderful lunch together, I helped her get to her connecting flight, and we enjoyed a wonderful leisurely walk through the airport together. What an unexpected blessing! You never know when the Lord will shine on you and give you peace.

    • Awesome!

  3. Thanks for the reminder, Cathi! (great blog, BTW). If we stop long enough, we can see the blessings in each and every situation.

    I remember finishing up a Promise Theater show several years when our olders boys were young. We were in downtown Buffalo, it was 10-11pm and we came to the car to find the window smashed and the radio missing. As we were cleaning up and filing the police report, we just counted the blessings of the situation…and it didn’t seem so bad after that.

    I loved Jonathan’s story – it shows that God has a plan, even when we don’t. Counting the blessings helps us to see that plan.

    • Bummer about the car…but I’m glad you were able to find the good in a bad situation.

  4. Yes, blessings abound—and how important it is to be consciously aware of them! Author Gunilla Norris has written several books and two in particular lift up the simple blessings in our everyday lives. Being Home: Discovering the Spiritual in the Everyday and Simple Ways–Towards the Sacred. If you like gardening, she has another book which draws parallels of tending to the garden and the seed to that of tending to our unfolding lives.

    Keep up your great work, Cathi—these truly are inspirations!

  5. Thanks for the book recommendations Claire!


Leave a Reply

Categories

