Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | February 9, 2009

In our hearts

One morning my son and I were driving to school, and the sky looked exceptionally beautiful. The sun was shining mid-way up, and there were sporadic and thick clouds. At one point, the sun was behind a cloud enough so that you could barely see it, but shooting out from below the cloud were gorgeous streaks of light. It was breathtaking.”You know what?” I said to my son, “Whenever I see streaks of light coming down from the clouds like that, it makes me think that maybe those streaks are really God’s hands reaching down to us.”

My son was considering this, and then he made some comments about what he thought God looks like. At first he thought that God was always invisible. But then we started to talk about times in the bible when God made Himself visible somehow.

We talked about how God came to Moses as a burning bush, and how He came to the Israelites as a cloud by day and a pillar of fire by night as they traveled from Egypt to their new promised land. And then I said to my son, “And God was in Jesus too, when He lived on the earth.”

And my son responded, “And Jesus is in our hearts…and our hearts are in our bodies.”  He had said it well.

It was a great discussion that lasted throughout our drive, and it all started because of the beautiful light in the sky, the light that God had made.

Responses

  1. I often think the same thing about the sun coming through the clouds and point it out to my kids…think you and I heard this from someone before…?

    • Hemmmm…I wonder who that could be? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

