Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | February 20, 2009

Where did grandpa go?

Children are often curious about heaven, especially when they know someone who has passed away. Our son approached us with many questions about heaven when his great grandfather died.

We answered his questions, and we also read him the book What is heaven like? by Beverly Lewis. I had read many books by Lewis before, and was already a fan of her adult fiction. I was very pleased to find out that she had written this book about heaven for children.

It is a wonderful book, with the storyline by Beverly Lewis and the illustrations by Pamela Querin. It also includes bible references throughout the book, as well as a suggestion page for parents in the back of the book.

Here is a link to the book:
What is heaven like? – Beverly Lewis

Responses

  1. Maybe Pastor should just read this book next Sunday, instead of a sermon?

    I know my first son, when he first dealt with a death in our more distant family, told us he didn’t want to go. I am thankful he has grown past that stage!

    • I remember talking to my sister about that kind of a response from children too…and I remember her explaining that when children are that young, the idea of being anywhere away from mommy and daddy can be frightening. It is hard for them to understand the connection between being with family in heaven versus the earth that they understand.

      Thanks for your response Darcy!

  2. Cathi – What wonderful advise you give in your column. If you still have that book on hand, please consider lending it to Sharon as Anna and Micah might need to hear it soon. My father–their great-grandfather (Gidu)–isn’t doing well. Please keep us all in your prayers. Linda

    • Absolutely. I’ll bring it next time I see them…and will keep all of you in my prayers.


Leave a Reply

Categories

