Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | March 20, 2009

Patience…I could use some

While I was talking with a colleague a few months ago, he started to tell me about his last vacation. He was golfing one day with friends, and he saw an alligator in the distance. The alligator was lying completely still with its eyes fixed on a nearby bird.

“The alligator had the patience of Job,” said my colleague.

He was talking about the man who suffers in the book of Job, from the Old Testament. In this book, Job is a man who suffers terribly. The book begins describing Job as a man of great faith. Then Job loses his family, his possessions, his health, and his wealth. All of it! Ouch!

In spite of this incredible suffering, however, he continues to look to God for answers, and ultimately, in Job 42:2, he says to God, “I know that You can do all things, and that no purpose of Yours can be thwarted.” Later, Job 42:12 says, “And the Lord blessed the latter days of Job more than his beginning.” God blessed Job for his continued faith.

The book of Job usually makes me feel several things, but mostly just humbled. It also provides a fresh perspective of where I can improve.

From the book of Job:

I am reminded of my lack of patience:

  • In what ways can I be more patient with my children?
  • In what ways can I be more patient with my whole family?

I am reminded that God is the one in control, even though I sometimes forget and think that I am the one in control:

  • When do I need to stop and listen to God’s direction for me?
  • When do I need to slow down the pace, and stop trying to control my world?
  • In what ways can I trust God more?

There are so many lessons to be learned from the “patience of Job”.  What lessons do you see?

Leave a Reply

Categories

