Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | March 30, 2009

Time for each child

A common challenge as a parent can be trying to find time to spend with each child individually.

As a family, we do many things together, such as dinner at the table, going to church, and running errands, that sometimes it is hard to find time to give each of my children alone.

I remember struggling with this in particular with my oldest, once he started school. It seemed like him being at school during the day made it harder to find time to do special things with just him.

One time of day that became a special time for our oldest was bedtime. He was allowed to stay up later in the evening, and so this became time for us to read books and play games that were his favorites. Other special times for our oldest were when his dad would take him out for breakfast on the way to school, or fishing really early in the morning.

As a child, I can remember times when my parents did something special with me.

For example, when I turned 16, my parents took me out to dinner at a really nice restaurant. It was just the three of us in honor of my special birthday. I can still remember that night, and I am thankful that my parents took the time to know me as an individual through moments like that.

Time is something that is so valuable for families. It is also incredibly important for children to have some alone time with each of their parents.

Establishing individual relationships with each of your children is something you can do from the time that they are young, and will help you to continue to connect with your children as they grow older.

What are your ideas on special times parent can provide for their children?

Leave a Reply

Categories

