Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | April 9, 2009

Distracted by the unimportant things

Parents are constantly being distracted. I will write about half a blog before I hear, “Mom, can you help me?”

My husband works in the garage while our kid’s hands touch his work tools and they bombard him with questions like, “Dad, what do you use this tool for?” or “Dad, can I help?”

Luke 10:38-42 says, “Now as they went on their way, Jesus entered a village. And a woman named Martha welcomed Him into her house. And she had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to His teaching. But Martha was distracted with much serving. And she went up to Him and said, ‘Lord, do You not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me.’ But the Lord answered her, Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”

I can really relate to Martha. Like Martha, I am a person who likes to get things done. I like to check things off of my daily list of tasks and feel accomplished. And sometimes my list can get in the way of spending time with God, and with my family. During those moments, I let the tasks I’ve put down as important take over for what is really important.

Mary knew that anything that was happening at that moment was not more important than listening to Jesus. She knew in her heart where she should be focusing her attention, and it was not on the unimportant things.

We teach our children these same concepts all the time. If we can’t stop writing emails on the computer long enough to give them our attention, what message do we send our children? If we miss church because of a hockey game, we teach our children that God takes a backseat to our sport’s calendar. Our actions teach them daily.

As I struggle to be more like Mary, and less like Martha, I want to not only better focus my attention where it should be, but also to teach my children at the same time.

Leave a Reply

Categories

