Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | April 17, 2009

A special birthday

I’ve taken my children to many birthday parties over the years. Parents come up with some really creative and fun ideas for their birthday parties…so far I haven’t been to the same place yet.

We always have birthday celebrations for the kids, sometimes with friends, and always with family. It is a delightful time to celebrate another year of growth, and I always love a reason to have cake and ice cream!

When my oldest nephew was born, he was the first baby within our extended family. I can still remember the moment that I first held him, when he was only 45 minutes old. He was amazing to me, and I was at my sister’s house every day for weeks after he was born! It was a great opportunity for me to learn about parenting, as I watched my sister take care of him.

Some of the most precious moments in my life have been days when I’ve watched my nieces and nephews get baptized. They were moments when I would hold my breath in the wonder of it, as the water of life would gently wash over their heads.

A family tradition that my sister started was to celebrate what she called her children’s “baptism birthdays.” On the anniversary date of each child’s baptism, she and her husband will gather with their kids. They remember the day of their baptism, talk about what baptism means, and remember that breathless moment of wonder together.

In a world where birthdays are celebrated with such zest and excitement, I love the way this example demonstrates the importance of an even more important birthday, the one where a child joins the family of God.

Responses

  1. Cathi, I’m not a mom, but I am a god-mother (twice) and so I send my godsons cards and gifts on their baptism birthday. I always say, “I was there. I saw God get a hold of you in your Baptism. Your His.”

    • What a great idea! They are lucky to have you as a godmother, for sure!


Leave a Reply

Categories

