Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | April 21, 2009

Birth order

A few years ago I was working with a client on strategic planning.  She was the owner of a third generation family business.In one of our planning sessions I had an opportunity to see my client working with her direct reports. After the meeting, my co-facilitator and I were debriefing the meeting with our client. At one point in the debrief discussion, I asked my client, “Are you a middle child?”

Her eyes opened wide and she looked at me with curiosity. “How did you know that?” she asked. Before that particular meeting we had never discussed the size of her family or anything about her family.

“I can tell by the way you work with your team,” I explained, and then I told her that I had just finished reading a book that explained birth order concepts, The Birth Order Book by Dr. Kevin Leman. When I first read the book, I was just interested in the topic, but little did I know that it would give me great insight into the behaviors of others in the workplace. It is a fun read that I would definitely recommend.

Here is a link to it:   The Birth Order Book by Dr. Kevin Leman

Responses

  1. I also enjoy the birth order concepts and see them play out in my family frequently. Funny thing is, you don’t seem to fit the “baby of the family” mold to me. 🙂

    • You’re right Darcy…in a lot of ways I don’t…I think I actually fit the “oldest” description when it comes to my work/business. Although there are some ways I fit the “baby” part too…I certainly don’t have a problem being “on stage”, and that’s a youngest trait!

  2. I am a first-born all the way. And my brothers are classic “middle” and “baby”. I think birth order stuff is just one more piece of data when putting together the way I operate (and others, too!) in the world.

  3. Sue, even if I didn’t know you were the oldest already, I would have guessed it because of how organized you are.

  4. Cathi, I can’t wait to go out and get this book!! Thanks so much for all of the sharing that you do!

    • Brenda, It is a great read!


Leave a Reply

Categories

