Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | April 30, 2009

Don’t know what to do?

I recently took a bible study course that was about four of the great prayers of the bible. I felt like I learned a lot in each class, as we looked at the prayers in more detail and learned about the culture and history that were occurring when the prayers were said.

The first prayer we studied was said by Jehoshaphat in 2 Chronicles 20.

The part of the prayer that our class leader emphasized the most was also the part that connected to my heart the most. It was 2 Chronicles 20:12b, “We don’t know what to do, but our eyes are on You.”

As a parent, there are often times when I don’t know what to do. Sometimes I have to spend time thinking about the best action, and often I talk to my husband about ideas and we decide together.

There are some times, however, when I don’t have the luxury of time, and I need to act immediately. Those are the times when I can feel the most overwhelmed, wondering if my actions were the best ones to take.

Questions race through my head, such as:

“Did I hurt his/her feelings?”

“Could there be something else I could try?”

“Why do I have to deal with this?”

“What is my child really upset about?”

The reason that 2 Chronicles 20:12b connected with me so much was because I actually felt relief over Jehoshaphat’s words. I realized that not only do I, a mom and a businesswoman, not know what to do sometimes, but so did a man who was a king!

As a part of the class, our leader sent us each home with a small piece of paper with the words: 2 Chronicles 20:12b, “We don’t know what to do, but our eyes are on You.” During the week, I had two conversations about challenges I was facing with others who had taken the class with me. During both of the conversations, the other person reminded me of this verse from our class. What a blessing others can be!

As a parent, I think I might want to carry this bible verse with me all the time! What do you think?

Responses

  1. I think that as a human being, this is a great verse to carry with us at all times. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

