Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | May 4, 2009

Another great prayer

In my last post I mentioned a bible study I had taken on great prayers in the bible. I really enjoyed the classes because our teacher was knowledgeable (thanks Sue!) and picked great material.

In one of the classes, another prayer we learned about is “The High Priestly Prayer”, which was prayed by Jesus in John 17.

There were a lot of cool points that I got out of this prayer, but the one that struck a chord with me the most was when Jesus prayed for future believers.

In John 17:20-21, Jesus said, I do not ask for these only,” (by “these” Jesus meant His disciples),“but also for those who will believe in me through their word, that they may all be one, just as You, Father, are in Me, and I in You, that they also may be in
Us, so that the world may believe that You have sent Me.”

Jesus prayed for me, and all believers who came after His own disciples, the day before He died. The day before He died, He knew He was going to die. He knew that it would be a painful, horrible death, and yet in His prayer He was still thinking about others!

That kind of love is so incredible to me…so beyond what I am capable of. During the class I remember feeling this moment of being overwhelmed by this thought…how awesome is our God’s love indeed.

In my next post, I’ll continue with another piece of this “High Priestly Prayer”.

Responses

  1. Well, I am loving these posts, Cathi! The Word is so alive.

    • Awesome! There is at least one more coming on this topic.


Leave a Reply

Categories

