Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | May 14, 2009

Two gifts in one

In my last blog, I wrote about Mark 2:1-11. This story intrigued me because of the demonstration of friendship in it.

Another part of the story that connected with me is that Jesus gives the paralyzed man more than you expect.

When you begin reading the story, because the man is paralyzed, you almost anticipate that Jesus will heal him.

However, Jesus gives him a different gift first. First Jesus gives the man forgiveness. And later He gives the man the ability to get up and walk.

As a child, when I heard this story, the part I would remember was the part of the man’s physical healing. Now, when I read the story as an adult, the other gift, forgiveness, was what really stuck with me and inspired me.

It is so comforting to know that we have this give of forgiveness too. When we put our trust in Jesus, and believe in Him, He takes the sin from us and gives us the gift of forgiveness.

What have you learned from the story in Mark 2?

Leave a Reply

Categories

