Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | June 4, 2009

Birthday cakes

Buzz Light Year cake

Buzz Light Year cake

 

 

One of our family traditions involves birthday cakes.

When my sisters and I were little, my mom made our birthday cakes each year.

These were not your average cakes. They always had a different shape. For my first birthday my cake looked like an elephant, and for my second it looked like a hobby horse, and for my third it looked like a bunny, etc.

This tradition started a new phase when my first nephew was born. Each niece or nephew still gets a cake in a different shape each year. My mom has continued this tradition with her grandchildren. The birthday boy or girl gets to pick what they’d like the cake to look like, or what theme they’d like to have for their cake, and my mom continues to amaze me with her creativity and sense of fun as she makes their cakes.

Thanks Mom!

Leave a Reply

Categories

