Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | June 8, 2009

BabyWise book

The first time I was having a baby, I heard about the book On Becoming BabyWise: Giving Your Infant the Gift of Nighttime Sleep by Gary Ezzo and Robert Bucknam.

I liked the idea of reading this book because:

  1. I love to sleep, and
  2. I was a first-time mom and knew I could use advice on how to help my baby sleep through the night.

I finished reading the book during the end of my pregnancy, and I talked to two other new moms who had used some of the concepts explained in the book about what they thought had worked well.

I decided that I liked some of the concepts the authors shared, but not all. The part of the book that was most helpful to me was about scheduling the baby’s feeding times.

I am a person who likes to have things in order, and although I knew that babies require lots of flexibility, any scheduling that would work with a baby would help me to feel more comfortable.

I was pleasantly surprised to find that the scheduling concepts from the book really worked well for me. I followed the feeding schedule suggestions, while utilizing some flexibility as my babies needed it, and it worked like a charm.

Although my first child did not sleep through the night as quickly as the book suggested he might, he did immediately go with the feeding schedule. When he would cry, I was able to know if he was crying from being tired, or hungry, or something else, because I had an idea of where he was in his feeding schedule.

I’ve had friends that didn’t think this book helped them, and other friends who absolutely loved this book. I was one of those people who took away the parts that best fit me and my family.

I would definitely recommend reading it if you are a new or about-to-be new mom or dad. You can take away what you think might work best for you.

Responses

  1. I’m not sure I read the whole thing, but one piece I seem to remember was that the scheduling, among other things, taught your child who was in charge, from a very young age. Especially with 4 kids, the scheduling concept might get a little less rigid, but the children grow up knowing they are only a piece of the puzzle and not the center of the universe. That, I think, helps kids grow up to be better adjusted grown-ups!

    • Yes, I do remember that concept in the book. It was right on too…


Leave a Reply

Categories

