Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | June 24, 2009

Optimism is your ally

I just finished designing a training class I’ll be teaching called Optimism is your ally. I’m looking forward to teaching this class because it is a positive and hopeful topic. We’ll spend time discussing how to use optimism and other positive concepts to manage stress.

When I was designing this class for my client, I had ideas of things that would be helpful to try as a parent as well. Here are some ideas that pertain to family and children:

Think about the words that you use

Talk to your children about using positive language to describe other people, new challenges, etc. The words we use can have an impact on our own self-confidence, as well as that of our family and friends.

Make a thankful list

Make a list of all the people, opportunities, things, etc. that you are thankful for. Put the list up for display as a reminder. Say a prayer with your children thanking God for everything on your list.

Picture reminders

Draw or create a picture of a glass that is half full. Talk to your children about looking at life as a “glass that is half full” rather than “half empty”. Give examples of what you mean, and tell them when they’ve just said something that connects to the idea of a glass being “half full”.

The other day while my son and I were playing miniature golf, he made a comment about his last putt. His response to the putt could have been positive or negative, depending on how he had reacted. He said something positive, and I pointed it out to him. I asked him if what he had said had been a “glass half full” or a “glass half empty” comment. He turned to me and said, “Glass half full”. He could tell by my response to his answer that I was proud of him.

Pray for help

Ask God for His help with your attitude. Ask Him for the strength to look at the positive side of the situation. Take this idea further and teach your child how to pray this way.

Pray about the day

Before you get out of bed in the morning, spend some time asking God to be with you throughout the day. Ask Him to give you patience with yourself and with others, and to help you see the beauty and good in the world around you.

What other ideas do you have?

Responses

  1. When I get the occasional “tone of voice” I say: “Now how could you have said that in a nicer way”.


Leave a Reply

Categories

