Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | August 17, 2009

Prayer for leaders

1 Timothy 2: 1-3 “First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way. This is good, and it is pleasing in the sight of God our Savior.”

Last fall, my son and I had been discussing the race for president of the United States, and I had been explaining why I preferred one of the candidates over the other.

“Mom, what will you do if the person who wins president is not the one you want?” my son asked.

“Well,” I answered, “Once the candidate is elected, even if it not the one I would have liked to win, the first thing I will do is pray for him. Whoever becomes our president will have a huge responsibility, and his actions will make an impact on our country and our world. He will need a lot of prayers to help him in making good decisions.”

When I read 1 Timothy 2: 1-3, it reminded me that even though I might not always agree with the person in charge, whether it is my boss, my senator, or any other leader in my life, they all still need prayers.

We are asked in 1 Timothy to remember our leaders in our prayers. It doesn’t matter if we have met them personally, or if we even like them; all leaders have to make decisions, and we can pray that their decisions would be guided and blessed by God.

At our church, our congregational prayers often include leaders of our country, and even leaders of other churches in the area. But we can take it further than that. We can say those same prayers for our leaders in our homes.

I am so thankful for many of the strong leaders in my life. I also realize that some of the leaders making an impact on me might struggle more than others. The best tool I have to help my leaders, whether they are strong or not, is prayer.

Responses

  1. I find it helpful for me, that when I am most disturbed by what leaders do, that is when I need to pray for them…and for me the most.

    Great post!

    • Absolutely…thanks JV!


Leave a Reply

Categories

