Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | September 28, 2009

Multi-talented, Same Spirit

When I had to study for an important chemistry exam in high school, my science-star sister was my tutor. She helped me get the parts that I had struggled with in the classroom.

When I am stuck on a project and need a creative mind to help, my other sister is the one I call to discuss ideas.

If I want to envision a room and how it will look with changes, my husband can draw a visual to help me see the finished product.

When I am learning a new and challenging song, my mom is my patient and effective instructor.

My dad is a wonderful resource when I need to think through a meeting tool or process to use with a work team.

I could go on and on listing the talents of friends and family members.

What I am so thankful for is that they are all so different in their talents. As the faces and talents of so many people I’ve been blessed to know run through my mind, I’m struck by the accuracy of this verse:

“Now there are varieties of gifts, but the same Spirit.” 1 Corinthians 12:4

These same talented people, with such different skills, all have their beliefs centered on Christ. I am thankful for that connection we have…as far apart as we can be in our skills and talents, we are brought back together through the Spirit.

Leave a Reply

Categories

