Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | October 1, 2009

Music – a great tool

I come from a musical family, and so I have always loved having music as a part of my life. As a young child I can remember sitting in the back seat of our car and singing songs in harmony with my sisters. I can also remember falling asleep listening to my mom playing the organ downstairs.

So it was natural for me to use music when teaching my kids. But even if you are not a musician, you can still utilize music in your home.

Here are a few ideas:

  • To help young children learn the alphabet, you can sing the “Alphabet song” to the tune of “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star”. Instead of singing the words “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star”, you just exchange them for “A B C D E F G…” and so on.
  • When you or your children are feeling anxious or hyper, you can turn on classical music quietly in the background. The peaceful music can help calm your frayed nerves as well as your children’s.
  • Sing easy and fun songs with your kids. Singing together can make moments feel more playful and fun. I’ve often made up songs with my kids names in them, and sometimes had my kids help me create the songs.
  • You can make up a song by just putting your child’s name to music. I often sang my children’s full names over and over to them when they were babies.
  • Sing to your child while tucking them in to bed at night. You can do this from the first day that your child is born.
  • My sister often sings to her daughter to wake her up in the morning. What a nice way to wake up!
  • Take advantage of what is already out there. For example, vacation bible school (VBS) programs often give out CD’s with the music the kids learn while attending, and the music can be really fun for the kids to hear at home too. Also, the AWANA clubs help kids learn the books of the bible with a song.

In what ways do you use music?

Responses

  1. I have a different song for each of my kids that I sang to them when they were babies – to calm them down and “try” to get them to stop crying. Actually, it usually worked (after MANY verses!)

    I still will use these songs to help calm them when they are anxious or upset. I don’t know if they really remember it from when they were babies, but I think it makes them feel safe and loved.

    My daughter loves that there is a song just for her. I think it helps her realize that she is unique and special to me all on her own.

    • Awesome…


Leave a Reply

Categories

