Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | October 19, 2009

Learning styles

When I’m designing training classes for adults, I try to keep different learning styles in mind. I create diagrams and charts for the Visual learner. I include stories that are relevant for the Auditory learner. I include activities where the participants move around the room writing on flipcharts for the Kinesthetic learner, etc.

It is important to think about the learning styles of our children as well. I think it is interesting how I could tell from the time my kids where very young that they liked to learn in different ways…part of the time it was because of their age differences, and other times it was because of their own personalities.

Sitting down to do homework after school for long periods of time can be absolutely miserable for one child, while it is seamless for another. Memorizing information can be easy for one child, and excruciating for another.

As a parent, it is sometimes hard to know how to best help your child learn new material. They don’t come with an instruction manual that tells you what to try when your child is in tears because they have to write spelling words that they’ve already had to write at school during the day. There is no Answer all book to help you to have patience with your child and with the homework situation itself.

As an instructor, I would think that I might have an advantage when trying to figure out their learning styles, but it usually doesn’t feel that way when we’re in the midst of a homework breakdown.

No matter what your learning style is or your child’s is, it is definitely a time of learning indeed. I often think that I’ve learned more about what doesn’t work, than what does work.

Responses

  1. I have one child that learns very easily the “traditional” way and one that struggles with basic reading.

    However, when I read the questions to my 2nd child and give her choices, she gets almost every answer right! She appears to be an auditory learner.

    I would LOVE any suggestions on how to help her with the reading (visual) part of learning, because so much of their future studying depends on reading. How do I help an auditory learner with visual learning?


Leave a Reply

Categories

