Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | October 26, 2009

The great mediator

1 Timothy 2: 5-6 “For there is one God, and there is one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus, who gave himself as a ransom for all, which is the testimony given at the proper time.”

One of the first times I had to act in the role of mediator was when I was in graduate school. I had signed up to live in a house with three other female graduate students. None of us met in person until the first day we moved into our house, and we were all in different graduate programs.

As we slowly got to know each other it became clear that two of the women in the house did not get along well with one of the other women. I was able to get along with all three of them, and because of that I became a mediator between them.

Being the mediator was not a fun role to be in. It meant that I had to help them communicate about the simplest things, such as who owed what on the electric bill, and who was responsible for cleaning the bathroom. I took on the role to help maintain a level of peace in our living arrangement.

However, as hard as it was for me to be a mediator in that house, it was nothing compared to what Jesus had to do as our mediator. He gave everything. He gave Himself. He gave His life. Without His connection with God, we were separated from God by our constantly sinful lives.

Jesus acts as our mediator with God. Jesus is the one who connects us to God. When Jesus died for us He became a spiritual bridge between us and God, linking us together through His love for us.

I am so thankful for Jesus building the most important bridge I’ll ever need to take; the bridge that connects us to Our Heavenly Father.

Prayer: Jesus, thank you for connecting us to God. Thank you for mediating on my behalf; for taking my sin through your death. Help me to remember my connection to you daily, and to let you lead me over your bridge of love.

Leave a Reply

Categories

