Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | December 14, 2009

More specific ideas for Kinesthetic learners

The ideas for Kinesthetic learners continue from the last post…

Let your child be physical while learning

  • Allow your child to be physical when possible. Hands-on learning is very effective for kinesthetic learners. Let your child do a task as they learn it. Sometimes, it might help to let them watch you a task first, and then try it on their own. You can see which works best for your learner, you showing them first, or them trying it without seeing it first. Some examples of tasks my kids learned by doing include: feeding the dog, setting the table, putting away the silverware, writing out spelling words, and helping me make meals.

Trial and Error

  • If your child is trying to solve a problem, let him or her first learn it through trial and error when possible. Step-by-step learning may not work as well with your kinesthetic learner, but the experience of doing something right or wrong will connect better for this type of learner. Remember, a kinesthetic child learns by doing what he or she is learning.

Use imagery and playacting

  • Using imagery and playacting can also be helpful for kinesthetic learners. I often see my kinesthetic learner using hand motions or expressions that match the story I’m reading to him. He is literally trying to feel the story. When learning a concept, use imagery and stories to help your child to connect with and feel the concept. Playacting works the same way, because it gives your child the chance to feel the emotions or concepts that go with the words or numbers they’re learning. For example, if my son has to memorize a phrase that includes the words “help me to…”, as I’m helping him practice, I might dramatically go down on one knee, cross my fingers together, and look imploringly at him as I say, “Please help me!” He will, of course, laugh at my dramatic overtures, but he also remembers what he has to memorize! The mini-drama I displayed helped him to connect with the words that simply hearing them did not.

There will be more ideas for Kinesthetic learners in the next post.

Leave a Reply

Categories

