Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | January 11, 2010

Considering more…

One way to be considerate of your spouse is to be helpful. There are hundreds of ways to be helpful to your spouse. When you are helpful to your spouse, you show your love through action.

“…with all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another in love.” Ephesians 4:2

Who better to bear with in love than your spouse? Your spouse is the person you chose to share your life with, so doesn’t it make sense to show him or her love? Doesn’t it make sense to help your spouse in daily living?

Because you know your spouse better than most people, you might take some time to think about how to be helpful to your spouse. Think through the following questions to help brainstorm ideas:

  1. What is most important to my spouse?
  2. For what has my spouse said “thank you” to me in the past?
  3. What do I do that is helpful to my spouse each month, each week, or each day?
  4. Have I prayed for my spouse’s needs?
  5. What specific needs can I pray for?

From these questions, you can begin to consider ways to help your spouse.

Below is a sample list of examples:

  • Communicate about schedules once a week.
  • Pay attention to my spouse’s love language (See The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman)
  • Help with a household task that I haven’t helped with lately.
  • Call to see if I can stop to get anything at the store while on the way home.
  • Take over when my wife/husband is losing patience with the kids, giving my spouse a chance to regroup
  • Research something my spouse is interested in and share my findings
  • Treat my spouse’s extended family members with respect
  • Stand strong with my spouse as our children challenge the rules of the house
  • Pray for my spouse daily

These are just some ideas, but after answering the four questions above, you may come up with a unique list of ideas to try.

Leave a Reply

Categories

