Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | February 22, 2010

Out of the mouths of babes

Children can do and say the most amazing things.

Even before my kids were born, I had a journal for each of them. In their journals, I would write down memorable moments (like about the first time I felt them kick, and later about their first days home from the hospital).

Then when they could speak, I would write stories of the adorable and often funny things they would say.

I’m so glad I did this, because now I can look back at these stories and remember those moments as if they had just happened yesterday.

Here is a cute example:

When one of my sons was five and part way through kindergarten, I was in the kitchen making some bisquits. My kids were watching me make the bisquits, and I said to them, “What I’m doing right now is called kneading…see? You spell the word k – n – e – a – d.”

Almost immediately, my five-year-old asked me, “Why is the k silent?”

I was so surprised by this kind of question from my little guy that I took quite a while to answer him…

Do most 5 year olds ask about the silent K in a word?

Leave a Reply

Categories

