Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | April 1, 2010

Our Purpose…

Some people seem to have a strong sense of purpose for their lives from the time they are a child. I can remember children who seemed to know what they wanted to do when they grew up, and indeed their lives lead that way.

I did not have that experience. I had some inclinations of what I liked from the time that I was young, but I was not really sure where it would lead me.

  • I thought about being a teacher…I did wind up in a career as a trainer and management coach.
  • I thought about being a lawyer…that did not turn out to be my calling.
  • I thought about being a writer or journalist…I have been writing and designing training classes for many years…and now I have a book for parents.
  • I thought I would be a wife and a mom…I am.

Is my purpose to be a trainer, a writer, a wife and a mom? In those roles, I do have a purpose. But there is a larger purpose we have been given.

Matthew 5:14-16 says: “You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.”

You might see these words and wonder, “Am I up to this? Can I do what I’m being asked? What if I mess up?”

The next few posts after Easter will deal with these specific questions.

Responses

  1. From The Message: Ephesians 2:20-22:
    He used the apostles & prophets for the foundation. Now He’s using you, fitting you in brick by brick, stone by stone, with Christ Jesus as the cornerstone that holds all the parts together. We see it taking shape day after day–a holy temple built by God, all of us built into it, a temple in which God is quite at home.


Leave a Reply

Categories

