Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | April 12, 2010

What if I mess up?

Continuing with the last few posts and their corresponding questions, when we want to live the purpose God has made for our lives, we might ask ourselves, “What if I mess up?”

I know I’ve had this thought myself, and I have also thought, “I’ve already messed up…can I still live out God’s purpose for my life?”

The first thought that comes to me is my own experience. When my children have misbehaved, I have forgiven them. When my children have made intentional and unintentional mistakes, I have forgiven them. And then once the incident or mistake is over and resolved, we move on with our day.

We are God’s children, and He loves us even more than we could imagine.

So, what if we do mess up? What does He say about that?

Colossians 3:13 says, “Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.”

And He tells us more…

James 5:15 says, “And the prayer offered in faith will make the sick person well; the Lord will raise him up. If he has sinned, he will be forgiven.”

This is great news!

Leave a Reply

Categories

