Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | June 3, 2010

Temporary beauty

I relish that moment when I see the first daffodil come up in the spring. I know that the beauty of the daffodils will soon be followed by tulips, and then many other flowers throughout the spring, summer, and early fall.

I get this feeling of wonder every time I see the first daffodils each spring. It amazes me how they survive the tough winters, layers of snow and ice, and come back each year. I find myself filling my first vase of daffodils and feeling glee at how they add such radiant yellow color to our home.

And yet, their beauty only lasts for a short time. Soon enough it is time for me to clip their wilted remains out of my garden.

It’s a bittersweet act to clip them, feeling sad that they’re wilted, and yet being surrounded by the other new flowers that have grown. I love them so much when they are here, knowing they won’t last long.

Leave a Reply

Categories

