Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | June 10, 2010

Time to be still

From the time that I was young, I have always loved being still by the water.

I used to sit and watch the waves at the beach for long periods of time when I was young.

I would listen to the noises around me; the waves, the wind in the trees, other people talking in the distance.

The act of sitting still and letting the sights and sounds surround me had a calming effect.

I can’t always find time by the water anymore, and often when I’m by the water it is not a time to be alone, but a time to be with others. My time to be still is not always by the water the anymore.

“Be still, and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10

We can take God’s message in this verse and place it in many places, such as:

  • Be still by the water
  • Be still in your car
  • Be still in your living room
  • Be still in a garden
  • Be still on a mountain
  • Be still in your yard

I don’t have to limit myself to finding times to be still by water. I have a choice, a choice to take time with God. A choice to be still and listen to Him, and talk to Him.

Where are some places that you can be still?

Responses

  1. Just don’t “Be still” at work–this may become a problem!

    • LOL!


Leave a Reply

Categories

