Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | July 8, 2010

Doubt versus faith Part 1: Ever been a doubter?

I can relate to Thomas, doubting Thomas, that is. He wanted proof, physical proof. If you don’t know about Thomas, you can find it here, in John 20:24-29.

I have definitely had times when I’ve been a doubter. It can be a lonely feeling to have. It can be especially disheartening when you see someone else who seems so sure of what they believe, making you wonder, “Why don’t I feel that same way?”

Years ago, I discovered a book that tackled this question very well. I found some great insight in this book. It is If I Really Believe, Why Do I Have These Doubts? by Dr. Lynn Anderson.

What I liked about Dr. Anderson’s take on this was how this author talked about the concept of feeling your faith. The author wrote about how you will have different times in your life when you have different levels of feeling. Sometimes you might feel very connected to God, and other times you not feel the same connection. But how you feel does not always have to connect to whether or not you believe something.

Some people I know show their faith through outward expression. You can sense how they feel connected to God through their expression of verbal praise or even when they hold their hands up in the air, reaching toward heaven.

Other people I know show their faith through quiet service. These are the people I see serving others regularly, never drawing attention to themselves.

Do the quiet servants have less faith than those who show their faith in God openly through their facial expressions and words? Of course not. They are simply different kinds of people.

Just as people are different, they also have different feelings on different days of the week, times of the day, and years of their lives.

If I don’t feel the same feeling of connection today that I did one time when I stood by the water and wondered at God’s creation, does that mean that I don’t believe? No, you don’t have to feel belief every moment.

I’ll continue with this concept in the next post.

Responses

  1. Cathi- I remember some of your doubting times long ago. What I have always loved about you is that you just keep asking the questions. I love this post–belief is not the same as feelings, as you so eloquently point out. It’s fun when they coincide, but not necessary. Faith is a gift from God. Thanks for your great presence in cyberspace, Cathi.


Leave a Reply

Categories

