Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | August 26, 2010

Washed Clean

Recently, while carrying a tarp across the yard, I felt ants start to crawl all over my arms and legs. They had been all over the tarp before I picked it up, and I hadn’t seen them. I quickly dropped the tarp and brushed them away. But as the night continued on, I couldn’t get the itchy feeling of those ants off of my mind until I finally showered.

The annoying itchy feeling reminded me of how people can feel that way about past mistakes they’ve made. In those cases, the itchy feelings are the feelings of guilt and remorse. Guilt and remorse don’t just brush off like those pesky ants did…they can settle in and cause havoc in our lives.

So, how can we get past mistakes we’ve made? God’s Word has answers for us. “But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead.” Philippians 3:13

You might read this verse and think, “But what lies ahead for me?” Again, God has an answer when we ask this question. In Jeremiah 29:11, it says, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

We can listen to God’s plans for our lives, and His strength will help us. Jesus has washed us clean of our sins through his death. He has taken our sins, and our guilt is washed away. We can now look forward, to God’s plan for us.

Leave a Reply

Categories

