Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | November 22, 2010

All-knowing Lord

I remember a time when one of my children called out to me in a proud voice, “I brushed my own hair today!” He was so delighted to have learned a new skill and wanted to share it with me. It was one more step for him toward independence.

In the last few years, I’ve found myself taking small steps like that in my life with Christ. As I’ve grown older, I have grown more independent in many ways…being a wife and mother to my family, being a business owner, being a decision maker, etc.

However, in one area of my life I have grown more dependent; I have grown more dependent on God. In our culture, the concept of independence is highly valued, and in most cases that is a value I absolutely agree with. However, in our relationship with God, we are told to lean on Him.

Proverbs 3:5  says, “Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding.”

I find it amazingly refreshing to hear this verse when I feel at a loss about something in my world of experience. For example, when my friend tells me that she is once again fighting a terrible disease, I struggle with it so much that I have no other way to look than to God. I have to trust Him and not lean on my own understanding, because my own understanding is not enough.

In my growth over time, the more I lean on God, the more I realize how little I know. I am grateful for an all-knowing Lord, so that when I don’t know the answer, I always have Him to turn to.

Leave a Reply

Categories

