Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | January 19, 2011

Wisdom

I can remember being concerned when I started graduate school that I might not be smart enough to keep up with my peers. I wound up really enjoying my graduate classes, and finishing my degree within a year and a half. Once I had the degree, I remember thinking back to my first day in class and how nervous I was. “Will I be able to do this?” I had wondered.

There are many times in my life when I still question the wisdom in a decision I make…usually parenting decisions. I’m assuming most parents feel that way at one point or another!

Job was a man who suffered a great deal in his life. In Job 12:13, we’re told, “With God are wisdom and might; He has counsel and understanding.”

Here’s what I like about this. First, this verse reminds us that God is our source of wisdom, and also our source of strength. Then it also reminds us a second time that God is here with us, to counsel us, and to understand our worries.

God is the Counselor with ultimate wisdom, much more than any earthly counselor, and as an added bonus, He understands us even when it seems like no one else does!

When we look to Jesus for wisdom, we are going to a Counselor like none other. When we need His guidance, we can remember the words of 2 Chronicles 20:12, and can say to Jesus, “I do not know what to do, but my eyes are on you.”

Responses

  1. This is so true Cathy! Sadly, many of us have all of God’s power and wisdom and still live as though we are in it alone. In fact, I have heard many believers say that they don’t feel “smart enough” to go to the Word for answers and study the Bible on their own. But God clearly tells us that the Holy Spirit will guide us and teach us. We have a built-in tutor! As Galatians 5:25 says “Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep step with the Spirit.” I know He is there but words like your meditation today remind me to let Him “guide” and “set the pace.” All I have to do is keep in step.

    • Karen…I love the connection to Galatians…thanks for sharing that!


Leave a Reply

Categories

