Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | January 26, 2011

Who’s time is it?

It took 9 years for me to get my book published. Those 9 years included research, teaching concepts, surveys, reading for data, writing, rewriting, rewriting more, and much, much more. But most of all, those nine years included waiting…something with which I struggle.

In Exodus 13:17-18, we are told about how God took the Israelites a different way than they had expected. As they traveled longer than they had expected, they had to learn to trust Him each day. They had to trust God for everything, their food, water, survival; none of which they could get on their own. When they left Egypt, they had not expected to go the way they would go.

Recently, I heard someone say, “God’s time is not my time…my schedule might not match His.” This immediately made me think of the waiting I did for my book to be published. I know looking back that if I had published the book at the 2 year mark, 4 year mark, or 6 year mark, it would not have been as good of a product. The nine years were required for it to be the best product I could create. But I sure didn’t appreciate that during the waiting time!

When I was reminded that “God’s time is not my time,” it seemed to click for me. God knows best why I had to wait…perhaps it was because the timing was better for my message, or the timing was better for my family, or the waiting was good for my learning.

Are you waiting for anything right now? Are you wondering why it is taking so long? Have you asked God to help you to remember that His time is not your time? His schedule may not match yours…

Responses

  1. Ah…how timely! I was just reading Max Lucado’s “Traveling Light” book in which he quotes Hebrews 4:16 “We will find grace to help us when we need it.” He also references Exodus and how God supplied the Isreaelites with manna each day. However, they were to only collect what they needed for that day, no more. God gives us what we need when we need it.

    I read this while lying awake one night worried about life. When will I get my own classroom to teach? When will my father-in-law be released from the hospital? How much improvement will he gain? What if I never fall asleep again? 🙂 I often need to remind myself to have faith and patience.


Leave a Reply

Categories

