Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | March 15, 2011

Sun’s light…Son’s light

Matthew 5:14-16  “You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.” ESV

As my family arrived home on a cold but sunny day, we all started to take off our coats and shoes. The heat within our house gave us relief from the chilly air outside. One of my children ran over to an area in our kitchen that was bathed in sunlight. “Oh, it’s so warm here…I’m going to stand here all day!” he called out.

Of course he didn’t really stand there all day, but he delighted in the warmth for quite a while. The sunlight coming through the window felt glorious after being outside in the cold.

I can think of specific people in my life who love to be in the sun, love the warmth it provides, and still more people who love light rather than the dark. Warmth and light give comfort to us by keeping away the cold and darkness.

When I think of Jesus’ instructions that we are to be the light of the world, it means many things to me. It means that He wants me to behave in a way that shows the world I belong to Him. It means that I am set apart for His purposes. And it means that I am meant to give comfort to others, through the warmth and light within my words, actions, and prayers. I am to reflect His light, the light of the Son.

Not everyone gives comfort in the same way. Some people give comfort through affection. Some people give comfort through cards of encouragement. Some people give comfort through listening, and others give comfort through sharing. All believers can give comfort through Jesus’ words, and give glory to God as they give light to others. How can you give comfort, warmth, and light today? How can you shine for Jesus within this dark world?

Dear Jesus,

Just saying your name reminds me of warmth and light. Thank you for coming into the world to save me from my sins. Thank you for shedding light into my life everyday. Please help me to see, feel, love, and reflect the light of Your love with others in my life.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

