Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | May 3, 2011

5 Reasons Why We Should Gather to Pray

Annie McCune, today’s guest blogger and the National Day of Prayer (NDP) WNY Coordinator for the National Day of Prayer in Western New York, shares 5 Reasons why we should we gather to pray on Thursday May 5, 2011, the 60th Annual National Day of Prayer

1. Our Government’s law supports it. Our president has proclaimed it.

“The President shall issue each year a proclamation designating the first Thursday in May as a National Day of Prayer on which the people of the United States may turn to God in prayer and meditation at churches, in groups, and as individuals.”

2. God supports it. Throughout history He has asked His people to pray for their land.

“If my people who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.” 2 Chronicles 7:14

3. Christian leadership supports it. Paul asked Timothy to remind all his leaders to pray for the leaders and nations where God placed them. Current leaders do too.

“I urge, then, first of all, that requests, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for everyone – first for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness….I want men everywhere to lift up holy hands in prayer without anger or disputing” 1Timothy 2:1, 8

4. Jesus’ prayers get answered when we pray in unity with other believers.

“My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me.” Jesus’ prayer for us – John 17:20-21

5. Prayer changes things! Prayer in unity in Jesus’ name is effective.

“I tell you the truth, my Father will give you whatever you ask in my name” Jesus said in John 16:23.

We have seen God answer our prayers each year as we have prayed together.

On Thursday May 5, hundreds of Western New Yorker’s will gather at 12 noon in Niagara Square outside of Buffalo City hall for a time of unity and prayer in Jesus’ name. We will have a time of repentance followed by thanksgiving and intercession for our leaders in several areas:  Government, Military, Education, Church, Family, Media, Business, Healthcare. Other gatherings are taking place all over our region at churches and public venues. I encourage you find an event and pray! Check www.wnyprays.com or www.nationaldayofprayer.org.

Sincerely,

Annie McCune

NDP WNY Coordinator

Leave a Reply

Categories

