Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | May 17, 2011

I want to see

In my last post I wrote about how I love the signs of spring. Part of the beauty of watching and enjoying the signs of spring depends on me taking the time to stop whatever I’m doing and just watch and listen. In this life I often get so drawn into the tasks of the day that I can forget to stop and enjoy the blessings in life.

While considering this, the words to a song our worship band sings came to me:

“Open the eyes of my heart, Lord.

Open the eyes of my heart…I want to see you. I want to see you.”

I love that this song reminds us to ask God to help us see His Glory. We can see God’s glory in so many small parts of each day, as well as in large moments in life.

For example, we can see His glory in the tender hug of a child, in the phone call from our friend reminding us that she’s there for us, or in the words of a song of praise. We can see Him in the beauty of spring, in the brilliant colors of fall, and in the majestic patterns of a sunset.

Have you opened your heart to see God’s glory today? Where do you see His glory today?

Responses

  1. I saw God’s glory in the leaves sprouting on my weeping mulberry trees. They are always last to get their leaves so they’re just budding now. No matter how bad winter is, spring always comes. Thank God. Also, it was warm enough today that I could open my windows and doors.

    • It’s so delicious those first few days of spring when you can open up the windows again! Thanks for sharing Kim!


Leave a Reply

Categories

