Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | July 26, 2011

Gardens: Pictures of God’s blessings

In the prophetic book of Isaiah, I found several references to gardens as I continued my research of the scriptures. The two that I found most interesting in my research both use garden descriptions to give us a picture of what God’s blessings are like.

In Isaiah 58:11, it says, “The Lord will always guide you and provide good things to eat when you are in the desert. He will make you healthy. You will be like a garden that has plenty of water or like a stream that never runs dry.”

I love this description of health that the scriptures give here. Then, in Isaiah 61:11, it says, “The Lord will bring about justice and praise in every nation on earth, like flowers blooming in a garden.”

What a cool way to think about different countries, as flowers blooming!

In my next post I’ll continue to look at ways gardens provide imagery in scripture.

Leave a Reply

Categories

