Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | October 4, 2011

Ways to pray – Idea #5

Immediate prayer

Another way to pray is to pray as soon as you see a request. For example, I often get emails from friends asking me to pray for someone in their life. It could be a family member who is having surgery, or a friend waiting for a frightening diagnosis. Usually when I get those emails, I pray for the person immediately. In fact, I often pray and read the email as part of my prayer. God knows the person’s need the best, and often I don’t know the details. So I ask for Him to intervene, to bless the person, to protect the person.

Also, you may see a need for a prayer while you are out doing simple errands. I can think of times when I’ve spotted a person at the grocery store or bank who seems to be suffering in some way, and I might even pray for them as they stand in line near me. They don’t even know I’m praying for them, but God knows and hears the prayer.

I remember someone saying this one time and wondering how hard it must be. The person said, “There are people we see who have never had anyone pray for them.” We probably see someone like this every day. And we can stop for a moment and say a prayer for them, even if they don’t know we are doing it.

What I like about this type of prayer is that we are watching for others needs all the time, even in simple tasks that we do each day.

I’ll continue with idea #6 in my next post.

Leave a Reply

Categories

