Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | October 18, 2011

Beware the “Joneses Jinx”!!!!!

“But my friends all have them!” I heard my son scream, as he tried to convince us to buy him the latest electronic game. I have been wrapped up, zapped, and chilled by the Joneses Jinx more than once. It has seeped in through the cracks and windows and doors like a ghost in the night, trying to outwit me and beat me down with the thought that “everyone has it but me”….give me my treat!

Has the Joneses Jinx visited your home? Do thoughts like this ever run through your mind:

  • If I only had that (car, house, pair of jeans, more money) I would be happy.
  • Why can everyone else afford that but I can’t?
  • Wouldn’t it be cool if I could buy that?

Don’t be too alarmed, but the Joneses Jinx really exists. It can be powerful, it can be scary, and it can overwhelm us. But resistance is possible!

Remind yourself that:

  • Life is about more than things.
  • You have many blessings…you know you do; count them out and say thanks to God for the blessings he’s given you.
  • The delight of a purchase wears off quickly, but a relationship with Jesus lasts forever and brings more blessings than any other desire.

Would you consider helping me spread encouragement for battling the Joneses Jinx? Tell me about a Joneses Jinx you have faced and how you overcame it.

To find out more about how to resist the Joneses Jinx, check out Ditch the Joneses at: www.ditchthe.com!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

