Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | November 8, 2011

Weeping and laughing

I’m so glad that you’re joining me for this new blog series. Just a reminder that this series is focusing on different parts of Ecclesiastes 3:1-8!

When my friend started to cry, I literally felt my chest tighten and my eyes strain to hold back tears. It was all I could do not to cry also. And eventually, watching her suffer in her pain of loss was more than I could take, and the tears started for me too.

This was a dear friend of mine, with whom I’d shared a lifetime of giggles, stories, shared memories, games, and laughter. And now, in a devastating time, I was sharing in her tears.

“For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven…a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance” Ecclesiastes 3:1,4

In this friendship, I had literally seen how God’s Word was real in my life. He sees us in our times of happiness, and in our times of sorrow. Just as my heart shouted for joy for my friend when she found happiness, and tore for her when she was broken, God sees us and loves us through our seasons of life. God was there when I’ve been most frightened, and when I’ve been so happy I could burst. He is there through our daily struggles.

Questions to consider:

  • What emotions do I hide or share with others?
  • Do I look to God when I am happy and when I am sad?
  • In my life, am I in a time of weeping, a time of laughter, or somewhere inbetween?
Leave a Reply

Categories

