Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | November 15, 2011

Clamp it!

I’m so glad that you’re joining me for this new blog series. Just a reminder that this series is focusing on different parts of Ecclesiastes 3:1-8!

“Opps!” I cringe, “I did it again…I spoke without thinking first!” As an extravert, there have been way too many times when I’ve spoken words that I haven’t thought through carefully first, and then I have regretted it. It is an easy mistake to make, especially when you are a big talker like I am.

In one of the classes I teach on communication, we talk about silence, and how silence sends a message as much as speaking does. There are times when silence is the best response, and times when silence is the worst response. Either way, silence is not an easy accomplishment for an extravert!

“For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven…a time to keep silence, and a time to speak” Ecclesiastes 3:1,7b

In Ecclesiastes it says that there are times when being silent is the right way to go, and other times when words are needed. Here are some questions to consider:

  • Has there ever been a time when you have been silent and you should have said something?
  • Has there been a time when you said too much?
  • Can you think of a time when you were silent and it was a good thing?
  • Can you think of time when you used words and it was helpful?
Leave a Reply

Categories

