Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | December 6, 2011

Alien in my backyard

On a family trip out West, my son saw a soda pop machine behind bars. “Why is that soda pop in jail?” he asked me. After I had finished giggling at his clever question, I told him that I had never seen anything quite like it!

It was such a surprise to me to see that soda machine closed inside of steel bars, physically protected from potential theft; locked away and safe. It made me wonder about the cause of locking up the machine. Had someone really tried to steal this machine before?

The irony of our country being called civilization is that much of the time people don’t use civil behavior. Our country (and our world) are filled with thieves, murderers, liars, adulterers, you name it! When we watch the news we expect story after story of people destroying lives, buildings, reputations, and it goes on and on. It can feel overwhelming at times to see the chaos, unrestrained anger, and unrest that occurs daily in the world. It can make me feel like an alien in my own country, my own city, my own backyard.

Questions to consider:

  • Do I ever feel shocked anymore when I watch the news?
  • Do I feel overwhelmed by the evil in this world?
  • Am I going to Jesus humbly in prayer, asking for His protection and guidance?

God’s Word says:

James 4:1-3

Psalm 33:8

John 15:19

Leave a Reply

Categories

