Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | December 13, 2011

Nasty bugger

While snorkeling on a vacation, I learned first hand that barracuda’s like shiny items. As I returned to our boat from snorkeling one day, I was alone. When I was within 20 feet of the boat, I saw a barracuda swimming just behind our shining metal ladder we used for getting back into the boat. This guy was a nasty looking bugger! Barracuda’s are not a particularly welcome sight, with their long sharp teeth protruding out of their mouths. They look pretty ferocious, and I was definitely scared of going closer to him. Needless to say, I turned back and did not return to the boat until I had others with me!

A bit later, I felt slightly braver approaching the boat because there were two other people with me, and one of them volunteered to go up the ladder first. But even as I saw that the first person got up the ladder without getting attacked by the nasty looking fish, I still felt the blood pumping quickly through my veins as I scrambled up into the boat. And finally, once on the boat, I could breathe normally again and begin to calm down my quickened pulse; happily relieved that the barracuda had continued to find the boat’s ladder more interesting than me.

I was thankful that I had others to share this experience with, and that I wasn’t alone. If nothing else, it makes it more fun to retell the adventure! There is a lot of emphasis in our country on being an individual. But God’s ways are not our ways. He reminds us to rely on other believers to help us stay strong in our faith. Jesus asks us to be a part of His body of believers.

Questions to consider:

  • Do I strive to do everything on my own, or do I rely on others for help sometimes?
  • Do I ask God to be with me when I am afraid, or do I try to “go it alone”?
  • If Jesus had friends when He lived on earth, would it make sense that He wants me to have friends who support me in my faith?

God’s Word says:

Romans 12:5

1 Corinthians 12:27

Colossians 3:15

Leave a Reply

Categories

