Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | January 3, 2012

Feelin’ Homeward Bound

I love my GPS! I love that when I drive to a new place and finish my visit, I can simply click on the Go Home option; one click and my GPS guides me home. I feel reassured knowing that the GPS can find my house from anywhere!

When I return from a vacation, I love that first time that I get to lay down on my “own” bed again. After hotel room beds or guest room beds away from home, I feel content to once again be in my own room on my own bed. I find comfort as I return to the habits and familiarity of our life at home.

As much as I love my home, however, it is a temporary home. This world is not my final home. My final home will be with Jesus in heaven someday.

Questions to consider:

  • What do I think of when I imagine my home; my earthly home or my eternal home?
  • Do I find comfort in my earthly home and/or in my eternal home?
  • When I’m told in John 15:19 that I am not of this world, how does that translate into my daily actions and life?

Check out what God’s Word says about this:

John 15:19

Romans 12:2

James 4:4

Leave a Reply

Categories

