Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | March 27, 2012

Wisdom for the moment

Today’s guest writer is Karen Cassidy.  There is more information about Karen at the end of this post.

As a mother it took me quite a few years to finally understand that there was no such thing as a no-fail recipe for parenting, and no such thing as a perfect parent. You do the best you can with the information and maturity you have at that particular moment in time and do a whole lot of praying –trusting that God will give you wisdom for the moment. Such was the case one night when my 7-year-old daughter couldn’t (or wouldn’t) go to sleep. She stayed in her bed but repeatedly called for the requisite glass of water, an extra story, more time with the light on, and a plea to “tuck me in just one more time PLEEEEASE!”

In desperation I finally asked through gritted teeth, “What is the problem?”

“I’m scared.” she said. “I keep thinking of all these terrible things.”

“Like what?” I questioned.

“I don’t know” she answered, “Terrible things like what if you got in a car crash, or the house burns down, or the big tree in front falls through my window.”

“You don’t have to worry about those things.” I reassured, an easy platitude rolling off my lips as I switched off the light for the umpteenth time and tried to casually slip out of the room. “God will be with you no matter what.”

But she was not buying it. “I know that!” she wailed. “but I just can’t stop thinking about it!”

“Well you need to try.” I shot back, and suddenly God’s wisdom was there, just when I needed it. “God doesn’t want you to think about those things.”

“How do you know?” she challenged.

Just by chance, (which of course wasn’t chance at all but God’s perfect timing) I had been studying the book of Philippians in my devotions that week and God’s wisdom was suddenly right there when I needed it. “Because God tells us in the Bible what he wants us to think about. Would you like me to read it to you?”

I sat on the edge of her bed and read Philippians 4:8 and then we said a prayer together. She smiled as I kissed her goodnight and her face shone with loving gratitude in one of those rare and wonderful parent-child moments. “Thanks Mom” she murmured, and looked up at me as though I were the smartest Mom alive.

Little did she know that I felt nothing but humility. I knew it was not me, but God who had supplied the parenting wisdom for that moment and God who deserved the thanks and praise. Once again I faced facts –I am not the “perfect parent” and there is no recipe for perfect parenting, but when you stay close to God by spending time in His word, the wisdom will be there when you need it the most.

Philippians 4:8 “Finally brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable, –if anything is excellent or praiseworthy –think about such things.”

Karen Cassidy is a Speech-Language Pathologist and mother of two.  She also has a blog called Karen’s Two Sentence Book Club Reviews

Leave a Reply

Categories

