Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | April 24, 2012

Leading and Being Led

Today’s guest writer is Jaime.  There is more information about Jaime at the end of this post.

I expected parenting to be challenging at times. I had these idealized scenes in my head of myself heroically handling those moments: lovingly stroking the hair of my daughter when someone hurt her feelings, or valiantly advocating for my son when I felt he was being mistreated at school. What I didn’t expect was how exhausting and un-heroic the day-to-day moments can be.

I spend my days leading my children everywhere – to the potty, to the crib, to the breakfast table, to preschool, to Target, to music classes, to playdates, around the block, away from the street. I spend a lot of time answering questions and trying to figure out how to pass on wisdom and values. While none of these moments are particularly challenging, it’s tedious, and I frequently find myself worn down and worn out. Then, I get annoyed with myself for not enjoying the opportunities I have with my children more. I love being a parent, but sometimes I am just so weary.

One of the best resources for me as a parent has been connecting with a group of moms. I found a local MOPS chapter shortly after my daughter was born, and it has been so encouraging to talk with other moms and realize that these challenges aren’t uncommon. Recently, a mom shared this verse from Isaiah 40:11 with me:

 “He tends his flock like a shepherd: He gathers the lambs in his arms and carries them close to his heart; he gently leads those that have young.”

The idea of Jesus as a shepherd is not new to me, but as a parent, this verse takes on new meaning. I’m not alone here. Jesus is carrying my little ones close to his heart. And God specifically addresses parents of young ones, too – he is leading me. Purposefully. Gracefully. Gently.

I think sometimes I get so weary because I forget that I don’t always have to lead. I forget that sometimes, I have a chance to rest, listen, and follow – and to trust that the God who holds my little ones in his arms has an arm around me, too.

” The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” Isaiah 40:28b-31

Jaime is a former teacher and a stay-at-home mom of two who blogs her thoughts at lovegrowoverflow.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

