Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | July 17, 2012

He endures, forever

This post is part of a blog series on bible verses that give us inspiration and comfort.  Thank you for visiting!

Today’s guest writer is Jaime.  There is more information about Jaime at the end of this post.

A Bible verse that comforts and inspires me:

Isaiah 40:8

What I love about this verse:

It reminds me that there is permanence, unchanging goodness and truth. God promises that his word will last forever, and with that one promise, every other promise in the Bible is cemented into permanence. And what sweet promises they are. His love endures forever (Psalm 100:5). His faithfulness endures forever (Psalm 117:2). His righteousness endures forever (Psalm 111:3). He will never leave us (Deuteronomy 31:6). He doesn’t change (Malachi 1:9). He is forgiving (1 John 1:9).

These verses connects to current, daily life by:

This week, the historic theater in my hometown was knocked down. I spent a good portion of my pre-teen and teen years there. A year ago, my old church and school was knocked down. It was the building where my nephew was baptized, where I spent countless hours with my youth group, and where I was married. I know these things happen in theory. They’re only buildings. Still, there is a strange insecurity in it all as I realize I’ve held a belief that certain institutions would never fall, never fail. And when the vestiges of my childhood come crumbling down, bits of my past collapse too, childhood moments buried in rubble and dust.

So goes the world. I have a number of friends and relatives who lament over the political state of our country. I know families crumbling with illness and affairs and depression and apathy. I have friends whose values are shaking to the core as their beliefs are challenged by people they encounter. This verse encourages me when it seems like nothing lasts. These promises are not just Sunday-morning promises. They are uncrumbling truths we can build lives on. Political ideologies will pass. Religious sects and organizations will rise and fall. People will fail us. The things we expect to continue infinitely may end abruptly, and we find ourselves staring at the ruins, wondering what happened. But our big, enduring institutions are wisps like grass to God, drops in a bucket, dust on a scale. The God who stretched the sky like a canopy and lit stars beyond our vision holds us, loves us, forgives us.

He endures, forever.

Jaime is a former teacher and a stay-at-home mom of two who blogs her thoughts at lovegrowoverflow.com Thanks Jaime!

Leave a Reply

Categories

