Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | November 13, 2012

He is with you, He will strengthen you

Today’s post is written by guest writer Bekah.  There is more information about Bekah at the end of this post.

I awoke one Friday morning a few months ago wondering, and perhaps dreading, how the morning might unfold. The news I received the day before sent me to my knees begging God that it wouldn’t be true. What should have been a simple doctor’s visit for a friend to check up on an injury from the week before, turned into an afternoon of confusion, anger, heartbreak, and fear. The “c” word, cancer, which had been a part of her vocabulary for years, was reentering after an exciting, expectant few months away. This morning she would find out for sure what the future would hold.

Unsure what to say or do, (to help her as well as just in general), I did the only thing I knew how to do: seek God in His Word and cried out that HE might provide the comfort I would need in order to help encourage and support my friend in this difficult time. I had been reading through Isaiah and decided to just continue that journey and see what God might show me. The following words appeared on the page, and then jumped off it into my heart:

 “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10

 And a few verses later, this beautiful reminder:

 “For I am the Lord, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.” Isaiah 41:13

I immediately started crying tears of comfort and peace as I instantly recalled a devotion I had heard years before. That devotion was led by a friend and mentor, who, at the time, was also my boss. In addition to the general thoughts on these verses (which I’ve completely forgotten since then), he shared a story about a time, many years before, when he sat, with his wife in a doctor’s office and they too heard that awful “c” word. But it didn’t stop there. As their doctor explained that his wife did indeed have cancer, he also pulled out a Bible and shared with them these words:

 “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

So, God inspired Isaiah to record these truths thousands of year ago.

About 15 years ago, they were spoken again by a doctor to a couple facing discouraging news.

That story, and the verse, was shared again in 2009 with a group of residence hall staff who were likely just facing a challenging few weeks in their jobs.

I “just happened” to read those words a few weeks ago, and remember that story, on the very morning my friend found out her cancer had relapsed and was able to share them with her as she headed to her first round of chemo.

And now, I pray that in the sharing of this story you, too, are comforted and reminded that you need not fear whatever is in front of you in life. The God of the Universe is with YOU. He WILL strengthen you and he WILL help you! He will uphold you no matter what you face. THAT is something to take comfort in!

Bekah is the Director of High School and Young Adult Ministries at First Trinity Lutheran Church in Tonawanda NY. When she isn’t hanging out and sharing God’s love with the young people there, she enjoys running, hiking, singing, playing her guitar, reading, hanging out with friends, and writing on her blog: Joyfully Blessed: Living in the Joy and Blessing of God

Responses

  1. […] blogging today about the amazing comfort found in God’s Word and faithfulness at Smallest Inspirations.  Check it […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

