Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | October 8, 2013

Making a difference each day

I love to teach classes. I’ve taught classes on Customer Service, Team Building, Leadership, and other topics through my business.  However, I generally stick to teaching adults in the classroom.

My gift is not teaching children in the classroom…so I have a great respect for others who have this gift. I am very thankful for teachers.

The other day I was thinking in particular about parochial teachers, and how I am often astounded at the blessing they are to the world.

I’ve grown up around parochial school teachers…my mom taught in a Christian school for over 30 years, one of my siblings taught in one for over 15 years, I attended one for some of my schooling, it goes on and on.

Here are just a few of the things that I love about Christian school teachers:

  • They are able to talk about Jesus in the classroom and they do! The Word of God doesn’t just come up in religion class, but can be a part of conversation in science, history, math, English, and more! I love that they have this ability and use it.
  • They teach because they love it. There isn’t really a question of whether Christian school teachers teach for money, because anyone who has ever seen a typical Christian school budget knows that the salary to teach in a Christian school is not high. When I was a teenager, I remember asking my mom why she chose to teach in a Christian school rather than in a public one, where she could make more money. Her answer, “I can talk about Jesus with my students, and that’s worth more than money to me.”
  • They look to the Savior for guidance while teaching other’s children. All teachers are required to have a degree to teach in a classroom. Many are required to continue with certifications beyond their original degree. But none are required to pray and rely on Jesus for wisdom. That is simply a choice that many Christian teachers make on a daily basis.
  • They reinforce what Christian families teach in their homes. As a parent, you can face many challenges to what you teach your children. TV, radio, billboards, and more are daily challenges. Getting reinforcement of the Word of God from your child’s teacher is such a blessing in a world of conflict.

Having great respect for parochial teachers does not take away from the respect I have for all teachers in general. It is just that parochial teachers have different aspects to their job that I am enthusiastic about, and for that I want to say thank you to those of you who serve in this way.

Leave a Reply

Categories

