Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | November 25, 2013

Comfort

Isaiah 49:13 “Sing for joy, O heavens, and exult, O earth; break forth, O mountains, into singing! For the LORD has comforted his people and will have compassion on his afflicted.”

One of my favorite parts of Autumn, when the air begins to get crisp again, is enjoying hot tea.  Green tea, black tea, white tea, chai tea…I love them all.  When the weather is hot in the summertime, I don’t drink tea very often.  But when Autumn arrives with a chill in the air, and a cold bite in the wind, I get a comforting feeling from a hot cup of tea.

Soups soon follow…tomato soup, potato leek soup, butternut squash soup…yum!  Again, the point of it is that I wait until the air is cool to begin enjoying soups again.  The comfort comes from the heat of the liquid versus the cold chill in the air.  I love to wrap my hands around a warm bowl or cup filled with a comforting soup.  I stock up at the grocery store with my favorite soups and teas in preparation for more cold weather.

God’s Word is a comfort too, in all seasons of the year, and in all seasons of life.  There are many examples when Jesus gave comfort.  He spoke in kindness to people…He healed people…He reminded them of their faith…He comforted them.  He wants to give us comfort now too, in our daily lives.

In Isaiah, God was comforting His people.  In Isaiah 49, the heavens, earth, and mountains are called upon to sing because the Lord had given His people comfort.  I’m amazed to think of the comfort I get from tea and soup, and yet how tiny that is in comparison to a joy that is sung from the heavens, from the earth, and from the mountains!  True comfort comes from the love of the Lord, His love for each of us.

Dear Jesus,

Thank you for the many times you have brought me comfort.  Please watch over me in each season of my life, and help me to look to You for comfort in all the days of my life. Help me to read your Word, Lord, and find comfort there as well.  Thank you for your kindness, your healing, your comfort, and your love.

Leave a Reply

Categories

