Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | January 6, 2014

Take the Pressure Off

Sometimes I put pressure on myself to just “get it right”. I can even do that with trying to follow God’s Word. I need to remember that God’s Word is truth, and I don’t need to “mess it up” by putting pressure on myself about the details.

For example, in Matthew 18:20 we are told “for where two or three have gathered together in My name, I am there in their midst.”

Sometimes when I would hear this verse in the past, I would picture adults praying together at church, or a group of people praying together in a Sunday school class, and in those times indeed God is there.

There was a moment though, when I stopped and thought about the other times that 2 or 3 come together in God’s name; simple, daily moments in our family. At bedtime when my children and I pray together, we have come together in God’s name. At the dinner table when we give thanks for our meal, we have come together in God’s name.

It doesn’t have to be formal for God to show up. He’s intimately acquainted with us; a God who is up close and personal. Even for those small moments where two or three gather in His name; He is there.  Awesome stuff.

Can you share other examples of times when we might gather in God’s name?

Responses

  1. Great post and personally timely for me. I often think of this scripture and find it to be true especially when I am working with someone (such as shoveling the driveway, folding laundry, collaborating on a financial plan) because we’re gathering in the Spirit of Love (in service to another) which is God.


Leave a Reply

Categories

