Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | August 5, 2014

All gifts are from the Creator

Today’s post is part of a series on “How we can use God’s gifts”. This series is meant to be a reminder and a celebration of different people using their unique gifts for God’s glory.

The guest writer for today’s blog post is Sue Steege, Director of Transformation Ministries at First Trinity Lutheran Church. Sue’s blog can be found at: susansteege.wordpress.com

What gift that God gave you have you had the opportunity to use to serve Him and/or others?
I believe God blessed me with the gift of teaching and I have had lots of opportunities to grow in that gift and to use it to serve others in my position as a church worker. I regularly (weekly and sometimes more often) teach adult Bible classes and also at times get the chance to teach children about God’s Word and about His love for them. I also use that gift informally all the time–teaching others how to do something or how to find something in God’s Word. 
How does it make you feel when you get to use your gift?
I feel completely and utterly “at home” when I get to use my gift. It feels like what I was created to do and it is so satisfying and fulfilling to see how God uses something I love to do. I get teary about it sometimes because I am so grateful to be able to do what I love to do. 
What are some examples of ways you’ve been able to use this gift?
For my job I teach a lot of Bible classes. I’ve also been able to do a lot of teaching nationally about Christ-like servant leadership with an organization called KINDLE. I teach children Bible truths and songs during Vacation Bible School (VBS) every year (this year is my 30th VBS as a church professional). 
Is there a Bible verse that comes to mind when you think about the gifts God gave you?
“For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.” – Ephesians 2:10 This verse is helpful to me because it reminds me that the gifts I have are not really about me–they always point to the Giver, God. 
What ideas can you share for how others can use gifts like yours?
The biggest things about teaching for me are to always begin teaching by being a learner. Keep learning yourself and that will make teaching fresh and exciting. I plan on doing that for the rest of my life!
Any final thoughts on using our gifts to honor God and to serve others?
I love it that the strengths we ALL have are gifts from the Creator. When we remember that, we can use them joyfully to honor Him and serve others. 
Leave a Reply

Categories

